LoganLibraryLogo Logan Library
Check It Out!
Logan Library News and Announcements
Tuesday, 21 February 2017
Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence 2017 Winners
The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction were established in 2012 to recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year.

Congratulations to Colson Whitehead and Matthew Desmond, the 2017 winners!

Colson Whitehead won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction for his novel The Underground Railroad. Hard-driving, laser-sharp, artistically superlative, and deeply compassionate, Whitehead's unforgettable odyssey adds a clarion new facet to the literature of racial tyranny and liberation.

Matthew Desmond won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction for his book, Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City. This is essential reading for anyone interested in social justice, poverty, and feminist issues, but its narrative nonfiction style will also draw general readers and will hopefully spark national discussion.

Share the Story
This year's shortlist remind us of the power of stories. Do they remind you of something in your life, your community, your history? #ShareTheStory and use these titles to tell us about your own stories.

Selected stories will be featured in the Carnegie program at the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting and Annual Conference - because we want to share your story, too. Learn more.

More information
Shortlist of finalists
Previous winners
Posted By Logan Library at 4:58 PM in Category:Books & Reading
sun mon tue wed thu fri sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31     

The Latest News!