LoganLibraryLogo Logan Library
Check It Out! Logan Library News and Announcements
Tuesday, 27 January 2009
2009 Children's Book Awards
bookcover: The Graveyard Book
The American Library Association announced their book award winners yesterday. The winners of the children's book awards are:

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature.
The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman.

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children
The House in the Night by Susan Marie Swanson

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished book for beginning readers:
Are You Ready to Play Outside? by Mo Willems.

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:
Jellicoe Road by Melita Marchetta.

Robert F. Sibert Medal for most distinguished informational book for children:
We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball by Kadir Nelson.

Mildred L. Batchelder Award for the most outstanding children's book translated from a foreign language:
Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit by Nahoko Uehashi .

Coretta Scott King Book Award recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults:
Author Award: We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball by Kadir Nelson.
Illustrator Award: Blacker the Berry by Floyd Cooper .

Visit the ALA website for more information about the awards.
Posted By Logan Library at 11:41 AM in Category:Books & Reading
sun mon tue wed thu fri sat
      1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

The Latest News!